Start main content

Common health problems

Respiratory diseases  is one of the most common health problems that preterm infants may face.

Respiratory diseases is one of the most common health problems that preterm infants may face.

The underdevelopment of the retina is the cause of retinal degeneration in preterm infants.

The underdevelopment of the retina is the cause of retinal degeneration in preterm infants.

Premature newborns with extremely low body weight are normally fed through the gastric tube for a certain period.

Premature newborns with extremely low body weight are normally fed through the gastric tube for a certain period.

Due to the underdeveloped organs in preterm infants, they are vulnerable to a variety of health problems, the most common being respiratory diseases, including:

  • Respiratory distress syndrome
The underdeveloped lungs in preterm infants lead to insufficient surfactant production, which causes a tendency of the alveoli to collapse and impaired gas exchange. As a result, the newborns may suffer from breathing difficulty, or worse, respiratory failure. Generally speaking, respiratory distress syndrome is commonly seen in infants born before 32 weeks of pregnancy or those having a birth weight of less than 1.5 kg. Respiratory apparatus, along with synthetic surfactants, are used by doctors to improve the breathing condition of the infants. Oxygen therapy is necessary in some cases to maintain normal blood oxygen level. The earlier in pregnancy a preterm infant is born, the longer period of oxygen therapy is required. Respiratory support with oxygen is required for some preterm babies even after their discharge from the hospital.
 
  • Apnea
Preterm infants have an underdeveloped respiratory centre due to the immaturity of the brain and as such, in the event of hypoxia or a change in the partial pressure of carbon dioxide in blood, the central nervous system would experience a delay, resulting in an apnea (of more than 15 seconds). Apnea is clinically defined as the cessation of breathing for more than 20 seconds or less than 20 seconds if it is accompanied by oxygen desaturation or bradycardia. Spontaneous breathing will usually resume with the use of external stimuli. While the drop in oxygen saturation can be measured by pulse oximetres, the symptom naturally subsides with growth in most infants after being discharged.
 
  • Chronic lung disease
Chronic lung disease is commonly developed among preterm infants who have been put on a ventilator for a prolonged period of time (more than 2 weeks) and require supplemental oxygen after 28 days of life. During the first year after being discharged, these infants are more likely to be re-admitted to the hospital for lung problems. Most gradually outgrow the condition as their lungs mature.   
Apart from respiratory problems, preterm infants may also suffer from the following health problems:
 
  • Patent ductus arteriosus
Normally, the ductus arteriosus connecting the pulmonary artery and the aorta closes on its own after birth. In some infants, however, the ductus arteriosus fails to close or re-opens. The condition can be treated by the control of water intake and medication. Surgery may be required in severe cases.
 
  • Intraventricular haemorrhage
Intraventricular haemorrhage easily occurs in preterm newborns with unstable health conditions. In the case of mild bleeding, in which ventricles are not enlarged, the problem will resolve itself without any sequelae; however, in the case of severe bleeding, in which ventricles are enlarged, this may result in a neurological deficit.
 
  • Retinal degeneration
The underdevelopment of the retina is the cause of retinal degenerationin preterm infants. Infants who require a high concentration of supplemental oxygen for a long time after birth have a chance to trigger the abnormal growth of blood vessels in the retina, resulting in various degrees of degeneration. Most patients show improvement without any treatment.
 
  • Jaundice
Physiological jaundice appears much earlier in preterm infants than full-term infants. It also takes longer for jaundice to disappear. Symptoms include yellowing of the infant’s skin, which can be treated with phototherapy. Some preterm infants may suffer from pathological jaundice due to certain diseases. Their skin may appear to be dim yellow, but in most cases, jaundice will gradually disappear as health condition stabilises.  
 
  • Gastro-intestinal malfunction
As preterm infants generally have low digestion and absorption capacity, they should be fed with small portions of food in a progressive way. Premature newborns with extremely low body weight are normally fed through the gastric tube for a certain period. Rarely infants would develop necrotizing enterocolitis, which will require special treatment.
 
  • Hernia
It is very common for extremely preterm infants to develop unilateral or bilateral inguinal hernia when they are close to being stabilized enough to be discharged from the hospital (with a body weight of 2 kg). Surgery is required to cure the problem.
 
  • Septicaemia in newborns
As the immune system of preterm infants is not yet fully developed, they are vulnerable to infections of bacteria or viruses, which can invade the bloodstream and spread, resulting in a systemic inflammatory response. Examples of typical symptoms include loss of appetite, cold limbs, persistent jaundice and slow response. Septicaemia may cause severe complications such as meningitis, which requires special attention and immediate treatment.
The likelihood of the above health challenges is associated with how early the baby is born. The earlier in pregnancy a baby is born (i.e. the shorter the gestational weeks), the more likely it is to have health problems.
Despite the various health issues that preterm infants face, their survival rate has vastly improved with the advancement of medical technology. As long as proper care is provided, the lives of some preterm babies, who would have died easily in the past, can now be saved. In recent years, even premature infants weighing as low as 0.5 kg can survive without severe sequelae.  
 

With the attentive care of medical staff and parents, most preterm infants can strive through their complications and gradually towards health. Once they are able to breathe spontaneously, maintain a stable body temperature, drink from a bottle and steadily gain weight, they are allowed to go home.

主内容開始

常見健康問題

 家長講座

呼吸問題是早產兒常見的健康問題之一。

呼吸問題是早產兒常見的健康問題之一。

早產兒由於視網膜發育不完全導致視網膜病變。

早產兒由於視網膜發育不完全導致視網膜病變。

極低出生體重的早產兒經常需以胃管灌食一段時間。

極低出生體重的早產兒經常需以胃管灌食一段時間。

早產兒因身體各臟器的發育尚未成熟,很容易會出現健康問題,最常見的是各種呼吸問題,例如:

  • 呼吸窘迫綜合症
因嬰兒肺部發育不成熟,肺部表面擴張物質的分泌不足,使肺泡容易塌陷及不能有效的換氣,會造成新生兒呼吸困難,甚至呼吸衰竭。一般新生兒呼吸窘迫綜合症較易發生在孕期不足32 週或出生體重不足1.5 千克的早產兒。醫生會使用人工合成的肺表面擴張劑,配合呼吸儀器來改善嬰兒的呼吸狀況。有些時候,需要以輸氧治療來維持正常血液含氧量。越早產的嬰兒需要輸氧治療的時間會越長,甚至有些早產兒出院回家後仍需要氧氣輔助。
 
  • 呼吸暫停
早產兒因為腦部發育未完全,呼吸中樞未成熟,以致在缺氧或血中二氧化碳分壓的改變下中樞感應變得遲鈍而導致呼吸暫停(超過15秒)。臨床上我們可見到完全沒有呼吸的動作長達20秒以上,或者雖然沒有超過20秒,但是伴隨有血氧下降和心跳減慢的現象,常常需要外在的刺激才會恢復自發性的呼吸。通過脈搏血氧儀可以測到血氧飽和度降低,但是大部分嬰兒出院後症狀隨著發育會自然緩解。
 
  • 慢性肺病
如果早產嬰兒需要使用呼吸器的時間太長(超過2周以上),而且到28天大以後還需要氧氣的輔助,就很有可能產生慢性肺病;將來出院後的頭一年內,較可能因肺部的問題反覆住院治療。一般隨著早產兒肺部逐漸發育成熟,症狀會逐漸好轉。
除了呼吸問題,早產兒還會出現以下的健康問題:
 
  • 存開性肺動脈導管
正常的嬰兒在出生後,連接主動脈和肺動脈的導管會自動關閉,但有些早產兒無法自動關閉或是關閉後又打開,常須要控制攝水量及藥物治療,嚴重者可能需要手術治療。
 
  • 腦室內出血
早產嬰兒因狀況不穩,腦部很容易出血。若是輕微出血,且未造成腦室擴大,多半會自行消失,不會造成後遺症。若是大量出血及造成腦室擴大,就有可能造成神經功能受損。
 
  • 視網膜病變
早產兒由於視網膜發育不完全導致。亦可能在嬰兒早期需要高濃度及長時間的氧氣輔助,導致造成視網膜的血管增生,而造成不同程度的病變。大部分患兒無需治療也會好轉。
 
  • 黃疸
早產兒的生理性黃疸會比足月兒來得早,且退得慢,嬰兒的皮膚會發黃,一般只須光照治療。有些早產兒可能會因某些疾病造成病理性黃疸,膚色會黃黃黑黑的,通常在狀況穩定後,會慢慢消退。
 
  • 腸胃功能不良
早產兒的消化吸收功能較弱,需要採取少量漸進式的餵食。極低出生體重的早產兒經常需以胃管灌食一段時間。有極少部份的早產兒會發生壞死性腸炎,需要特殊的治療。
 
  • 疝氣
極早早產嬰兒常在一切穩定,且進步到快要出院的時候(此時體重大約2千克),出現單側或雙側腹股溝疝氣,需要手術治療。
 
  • 新生兒敗血症
早產兒因免疫系統尚未發育完全,非常容易受細菌或病毒感染,及侵入血液中擴散而造成全身性炎症反應。嬰兒一般會出現吃奶減少、手腳冰冷、黃疸不消退、反應能力低下等症狀。敗血症有可能會導致嚴重的併發症如腦膜炎,需要特別注意及早治理。
出現以上問題的機率,與早產的程度有關,愈早產(懷孕周數愈少),問題出現的可能性愈大。
 
雖然早產兒面對多種健康問題,但由於醫療科技的進步,大大提昇了早產兒的存活率。一些從前不容易救活的早產兒,只要護理恰當,也可以存活下來。近年更可讓出生只有0.5千克或以上的早產兒健康存活,並且沒有嚴重後遺症。 

經過醫護人員與父母的悉心照顧,以及早產兒的努力奮鬥,大多數早產兒的問題漸漸得到改善,健康情況逐步穩定下來。當早產兒可以自主呼吸,體溫穩定,可以通過奶瓶吃奶,體重穩定增長,嬰兒就可以回家了。